“you have to soak oatmeal? why?”

I am asked this question over and over, by moms and others wanting to feed their children and their families nourishing whole grains. They are puzzled because it doesn’t say so on the box. Hmmmmmmmm. Another problem with eating processed food in the industrial agricultural model, another problem with a food system that is run by what I call the “Food Industrial Complex”.  Somewhere along the way we got away from eating whole grains the way they are best eaten…soaked for a long time with what I call a “neutralizer”…and then served with good, wholesome butter from pastured cows, or their unadulterated (read fresh from the cow), full fat cream. Mmmmmmm mmmmm delicious! AND nutritious!

I will be teaching all the WHYS, HOWS,  WHATS and FOR HOW LONGS about whole grains AND legumes this Saturday, February 6, in Alexandria, VA. This information is in addition to what may be found in the Nourishing Traditions cookbook. To register, see the 2010 class schedule page.

And if you can’t make it to class, you may pre-order a beautifully hand-illustrated BEAN and GRAIN chart.

delicious SOAKED oatmeal

Delicious SOAKED oatmeal, with butter and milk from pastured cows.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to ““you have to soak oatmeal? why?”

  1. G. Renee' Peregory

    I heard about you from a MOM’s employee! She gave me your info& encouraged me to take one of your classes.
    Please let me know when you will be having your next.
    Thanks

    • simplybeingwell

      Hello

      Check out the class schedule page. I am teaching the next two Saturdays in Alexandria. Send me an email at simplybeingwell at aol dot com, so that I may add you to my email list for a class schedule once or twice a month. Be well! Monica

  2. Pingback: Health conference to feature mom-chef from Takoma Park

Leave a Reply

