Kid-tested yummy ferment!

In an effort to keep my family supplied with delicious and nutritious , good-for-the-gut bacteria and immune boosters, I put up some of my favorite kvass today, thanks to the GAPS book. Kids love it and so will you:

In a clean quart jar, place one cut up apple, any kind you love or have around, and one handful of berries-yes, frozen organic okay at this time of year- and a tsp or so of minced Ginger. Add 1/2 cup whey ( dripped from yogurt or kefir or from that gorgeous raw milk you let sit out on the counter for 5-7 days) and top with room temp water. Leave about 1-1.5 inches of air at the top and cap tightly. Let it sit out on your counter at room temp for about 3 days, or until the cap is taut under your finger pressure. (the cooler your kitchen, the longer it will take; the warmer, the shorter. )

Serve/drink about 1-2 oz to start with; watch your body’s reaction and go from there. (if you bloat, or have gas or other bowel disturbances, slow down or hold at the same level until they pass. Then increase the amount you drink daily.)

Oh, and feel free to mix up the fruits and veggies, making your own combinations. I try to shoot for what would be about 1/3 of the quart jar packed. (but don’t pack the fruit or veggies!)

Enjoy!

20111204-135929.jpg

16 Comments

Filed under ferments, Food, Recipes

16 responses to “Kid-tested yummy ferment!

  1. Lori

    Hi Monica, Great post! Now why didn’t I think of using fruit for a kvass? My kids are NOT drinking beet kvass, will not eat saurkraut, nor dilly fermented carrots. But this, I am fairly certain they will love (anything with berries). I can’t wait to try it!

  2. ghina

    awesome! I’ve been doing the beet kvaas the same way!

  3. Chana

    I just put up a batch of this with a lovely Pacific Rose apple and frozen strawberries. And earlier I put up some fermented ketchup 🙂

    • simplybeingwell

      Chana
      Sounds delightful! I’ll be putting up some ketchup myself today…and more kraut! Got to keep those good bugs coming!
      Happy Holidays
      Be well
      Monica

      • Chana

        This is really tasty! Can I make a second batch of kvass with the same fruit by just adding more water when there is just a bit of liquid left? If so, should I also add more whey?

        • simplybeingwell

          Hi there
          It is best to add water every time you drink some. Then put back in the refrigerator. Toss the fruit when it is spent. Enjoy!

  4. Jenn

    this fruit kvass is a huge hit. my husband won it at the cooking class in Groton. We’ve been making every since 🙂 So great.
    Anyone know of a safe slow cooker./crock pot? Is the clay pot by Zisha okay??? Happy New Year 🙂

  5. Windy Rudd

    So, do the apples begin to break down and get brown in the mix after it is in the fridge, or does this mean that it didn’t ferment enough to preserve them? Tastes wonderful and my daughter loves it, just want to make sure its good. btw, we meet at the four fold conference! Wonderful cooking class!

    • Hi Windy! I remember you! Great that you are trying the fruit kvass. Yes, they begin to break down and get brown in the fridge. After a while, you will know that the fruit is “spent” and need to start a new batch. Enjoy!! And do try different fruits/veggie mixes. Mix it up and make it fun! be well, Monica

  6. Pingback: Kiddie Kvass | fringe eating

  7. Love this recipe. I didn’t know kvass even existed until today. I would love to try this recipe but was wondering if there was an alternative to whey? I do make my own kefir so it’s not a prob, but I heard you could use unpasturised honey or yeast instead?

  8. Pingback: The Juggling Act that is GAPS (Gut and Psychology Syndrome™) or, “Keep these three balls in the air” | Simply Being Well

Leave a Reply

